Present Commission

The 8th National Education Commission was appointed on 2020.02.28 for 5 years period



( B.Sc. (Bio Science),B.Ed )

Email :

To be Appointed

Vice Chairman (Policy)

Email :

Mr. M. Kingsly Fernando


(B.A. (General))

Email :

Ex-Officio Members

Prof.Sampath Amaratunga

Chairman, University Grants Commission

Eng. Udeni Wickramasinghe

Chairman, Tertiary & Vocational Education Commission

Appointed Members

Dr.Kapila Bandara

Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Colombo

Mr.Swaminathan Wimal

Senior lecturer Department of Linguistics and English University of Jaffna

Dr.Anuruddha Padeniya

Paediatric Neurologist, Lady Ridgeway Hospital

Dr.Indrani Thalagala

Former Head of Department, Department of Early Childhood and Primary Education. Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL)


Secretary to the Prime Minister

Dr.Harsha Alles

Chairman, Gateway International School

Mr. M.N. Ranasinghe

Secretary, Ministry of Education

Mr.T.M.J. Bandara

Director, Department of National Planning

Mr.M.M. Nayeemudeen

Additional Secretary, Ministry of Public Administrative, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government


Former Vice-Chancellor,University of Vocational Technology

Advanced Search